Visit our COVID-19 Information pages for details regarding the coronavirus as it relates to the Chickasaw Nation.
News > Press Releases > Press Release

Press Release

Release Date: August 02, 2022
by Chickasaw Nation Media Relations Office

Chickasaw Nation Election Secretary Rita Loder announced results of the Aug. 2, 2022, primary election.

Pickens District Legislator, Seat 3 candidate Charles Marris, Marietta, received, 1,427 votes to defeat Bradley Steven Woods, Ardmore, who received 710 votes. Mr. Marris will fill the vacant seat resulting from the retirement of incumbent Linda Briggs, Marietta.

Panola District Legislator, Seat 1 incumbent Beth Alexander, Colbert, received 578 votes to defeat challenger Baron Burgess, Hendrix, who received 151 votes. Ms. Alexander will retain the seat.

Tishomingo District Legislator, Seat 2 incumbent Derrick Priddy, Sulphur, received 809 votes to retain the office. Challengers Robin Woods, Tishomingo, received 205 votes and Lisa Hudson, Davis, received 302 votes.

Pontotoc District Legislator, Seat 5 incumbent Lisa J. Billy, Lindsay, received no challengers and will retain her position.

Supreme Court Justice, Seat 1 incumbent Mark H. Colbert, Ardmore, received no challengers and will retain his position.

Elected officials will take the oath of office Monday, Oct. 3.

For more information, please contact Ms. Loder at (580) 310-6475.

2022 Primary Election Results


Pickens District, Seat 3 Charles Marris of Marietta – 1,427 votes (66.78%) - winner Bradley Steven Woods of Ardmore –710 votes (33.22%)

Panola District, Seat 1 Beth Alexander of Colbert – Incumbent, 578 votes (79.29%) – winner Baron Burgess of Hendrix – 151 votes (20.71%)

Tishomingo District, Seat 2 Derrick Priddy of Sulphur – Incumbent, 809 votes (61.47%) – winner Robin Woods of Tishomingo – 205 votes (15.58%) Lisa Hudson of Davis – 302 votes (22.95%)

Pontotoc District, Seat 5 Lisa J. Billy of Lindsay – no challenger – reelected

Supreme Court: Seat 1: Mark H. Colbert of Ardmore – Incumbent – no challenger – reelected